2/12: The Ambiguous Astrup: Martha Berit Belt

2 December at 18:00: In relation to our Nikolai Astrup exhibition "Visions of Norway", KODE's Composers' Homes invites our audiences to the concert series «Astrup’s Musical Landscape» in Festsalen, KODE 1.

The first recital is by pianist Martha Berit Belt who presents composers with connections to Western Norway, .

Buy Tickets here

KODE's Composer Homes concists of the former homes of Edvard Grieg, Ole Bull and Harald Sæverud. All three of our composers were, much like Astrup, inspired by nature. This is reflected in their homes as well as in their music.

Nicolai Astrup himself used musical terminology (such as "symphony" and "nocturne") to describe colours and paintings. He stated that of all art forms; music is the closest to painting and that a gifted musician was a latent painter.

Martha Berit Belt holds a master’s degree in piano performance from The Grieg Academy in Bergen, with Signe Bakke as her teacher. In her master thesis, she studied the music of Olivier Messiaen. She has also been taking lessons with pianists such as Håvard Gimse and Julius Drake amongst others.

Belt performs regularly, both as a soloist and an accompanist. In addition to being an active pianist in Bergen, she has during the last year given a concert in Grieg-Begegnungsstätte in Leipzig and participated in a Lied-duo competition in Groningen, The Netherlands. She has given several concerts at Troldhaugen, both as “pianist of the week” and in Grieg’s villa. Belt has a wide repertoire that reaches from early music by Bach to contemporary music. She has taken part in festivals such as Borealis and Oslo International Theatre Festival. She often collaborates with singers and instrumentalists as accompanist and chamber musician.


Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Lok, Op. 66 nr 8
Jølstring, Op. 17 nr 5
Catharinius Elling (1858-1942)
Sanger uten Ord, Op. 3 nr 1: Andante sempre legato
Norske folkemelodier: Baansull fra Førde
Norske folkemelodier: Baansull fra Sundfjord

Edvard Grieg
Fra Folkelivsbilder, Op. 19:
Brudefølget drar forbi

Harald Sæverud (1897-1992)
Hjuringen pi Eidsmodal, Op. 24 nr 2
Venevil (Kristins Vals), Op. 18 nr 5
Fartein Valen (1887-1952)
Intermezzo, Op. 36
Harald Sæverud 
Syljetone, Op. 14, nr 2
Revebjølle, Op. 22, nr 1
Edvard Grieg 
Fra Slåtter, Op. 72:
Myllargutens bruremarsj
Jo Vestafes Springar

Adults: NOK 290
KODE and Troldhaugen members: NOK 250
BergenCard and students NOK 250
Children NOK 50

Any remaining tickets are sold in the front office in Permanenten / KODE1
The concert ticket includes admission to the Astrup exhibition «Visions of Norway» in Permanenten / KODE 1.
We encourage our concert audience to view the exhibition before the concert.

Buy Tickets here

  • 2. December 2021
  • 290/250/50