Concert 8/5: Pauline Hall’s Piano Sonata

Sunday, 8 May, 13:00: Two daring composers are linked together when Julie Ye performs works by Harald Sæverud and his close friend Pauline Hall at Siljustøl. This may be the first time in over a century that Hall’s piano sonata is being performed. 

Book your tickets here

The Norwegian Pauline Hall was a significant artist and a courageous and unconventional woman who was ahead of her time. Hall was highly articulate both as a composer and art critic, and she also lived with another woman, Caroline “Caro” Olden, for large parts of her life. 

Hall debuted her piano sonata in F minor herself at the Oslo Association of Music Teachers in 1916. The evidence suggests that the sonata has not been performed since, and it is quite an event that we have the chance to hear this music again. Pauline Hall spent much of her time in France, and her music is clearly inspired by French impulses, above all Debussy. 

Hall was a close friend and colleague of Sæverud. When Sæverud’s Ballad of Revolt was performed for the first time by the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra in October 1945, with the composer himself conducting, Hall wrote in Dagbladet, where she worked as a music critic, that “the sun has risen on Norwegian music”.

About the artist 
Julie Yuqing Ye is one of our foremost up-and-coming pianists. She has performed as a soloist and chamber musician at venues such as the Norwegian Opera and Ballet, Oslo Konserthus, Troldhaugen, and Wigmore Hall and Milton Court Concert Hall in London. 

About the Sæverud Anniversary
In 2022 it is 125 years since the composer Harald Sæverud was born. This will be commemorated throughout the year with several concerts in the composer’s home Siljustøl, with music by Sæverud and other composers.


Sunday 8 May at 13:00 
Concert in Storstuen at Siljustøl Museum
Julie Ye, piano 

Harald Sæverud (1897-1992) 

Slåtter og stev fra Siljustøl bok II 

- Revebjølle 
- Kvernslått 
- Den siste bå’nlåt 
- På kingelvevstrenger 
- Kjempeviseslåtten 

Claude Debussy (1862-1918) 

Suite Bergamasque 
- Prélude 
- Menuet 
- Clair de lune 
- Passepied 

Pauline Hall 1890–1969 

Sonate i fiss-moll (1916–17) 
- Allegro moderato 
- Lento 
- Allegretto scherzando 
- Allegro 



Buy Ticket

  • 8. May 2022

Julie Ye (foto: Clementine Grimault)