Røta: Ragnhild Hemsing and Tor Espen Aspaas

Concert with violinist Ragnhild Hemsing and pianist Tor Espen Aspaas in Troldsalen, Sunday 5 September at 13:00.

Book your tickets here

Ragnhild Hemsing (b. 1988) stands out amongst the rising stars in Norway as a remarkably poised artist. Her unique upbringing, deeply immersed in the rich folk music traditions of Norway, enables her to be one of the first artists to successfully merge the instantly identifiable characteristics of Norwegian folk music and classical performance in a young, fresh and entirely contemporary fashion.

At only 14 years of age Ragnhild made her debut performing the Mendelssohn Concerto with both, the Bergen Philharmonic and the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra. Since then, she has performed internationally with renowed orchestras such as the Norwegian Radio Orchestra, the Munich Symphony Orchestra, the Staatskapelle Weimar and the Göttingen Symphony Orchestra. Moreover, Ragnhild Hemsing is a guest at several important festivals such as the Kissinger Sommer, the Weilburger Schlosskonzerte, the Hohenloher Kultursommer and the MDR Musiksommer. 

Tor Espen Aspaas (b. 1971) is one of the most outstanding Norwegian pianists and music communicators of his generation. In 2016 he was created Knight 1st Class within the Royal Norwegian Order of St. Olav for his merits and contributions to music and culture. In 2006 he was appointed university professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music where, in addition to his teaching, he is currently doing a research project looking into the role of improvisation in the creative processes and works of Beethoven.

Aspaas gained his postgraduate soloist’s diploma at the Norwegian Academy of Music in 1996 and gave a critically acclaimed debut recital in Oslo the following year. He has received numerous grants and awards and has appeared as a soloist with several international orchestras, as well as with all of Norway's professional orchestras.


Bruremarsj etter Myllarguten trad. folketoner from Telemark.

Edvard Grieg (1843-1907):
- Bruremarsj etter Myllarguten fra Slåtter, Op. 72
- Lyriske stykker V, Op. 54, arr. for fiolin/Hardingfele og piano.
Notturno (Nocturne)
Gangar (Norwegian March)
Trolltog (Zug der Zwerge)

Ole Bull (1810-1880): La Melancolie

Edvard Grieg: Ved Mannjevningen fra Sigurd Jorsalfar, Op. 22

Johan Halvorsen (1864-1935):
- “Norske danser No. 2” for fiolin og piano
- “Veslemøys sang”, arr. for Hardingfele og piano fra Mosaique, Suite de morceaux caracteristique

Ludvig Irgens-Jensen (1894-1969): Allegretto: fra Sonate for fiolin og piano i Bb dur:


Johan Halvorsen: «Elegie» for fiolin og piano

Hardanger fiddle solo:
- "Bjøllelåtten", springar fra Valdres 
- "Kjeringe i snødreve", halling fra Valdres             

Edvard Grieg:
Fiolinsonate nr. 3 i c-moll, Op. 45
Allegro molto ed appassionato
Allegretto espressivo alla Romanza
Allegro animato

Booking and tickets

Entrance to the museum and Grieg's villa is included in the ticket.

The Troldhaugen café is open, serving coffee, tea and light meals.

Adults NOK 290
KODE Members NOK 250
Students NOK 250
Children NOK 50

Book your tickets here

If available, tickets will be for sale at the door the day of the concert.