Siljustøl 9/10: Johanne Haugland and Eirik Stømner

Sunday 9 October at 14:00, Johanne Haugland and Eirik Stømner will perform together at Siljustøl.

In the program we find Tchaikovsky. He was also a friend of Edvard Grieg. Haugland and Stømner will perform Tchaikovsky's Souvenir d'un lieu cher, which can be translated into "Memory from a Dear Place".

First off in the program is Estonian composer Arvo Pärt's Fratres from 1977. The work is an example of the use of the composer's own composition technique tintinnabuli. Among other things, he described the technique as follows: "Tintinnabuli is an area I wander into when I'm looking for answers – in life, in music, in work."

Furthermore, in the program and appropriately for the time of year they will perform Brahms's 1st violin sonata – The Rain Sonata. which is referred to as a flagship of the romantic chamber music repertoire.

Johanne Haugland was born and raised in Bergen and started playing the violin with the Suzuki method at a young age with Britta Skärby Vindenes. She was later a student of Per Gisle Haagenrud and Alf-Richard Kraggerud before she began studying at the Barratt Due music institute with Stephan Barratt-Due. Haugland completed her master’s degree at the Norwegian Academy of Music during the Spring 2020, where she was a student of Peter Herresthal.

Eirik Haug Stømner is a Norwegian pianist from Halden. He received his Artist Diploma exam at the Norwegian Academy of Music in 2018, after studies with professors Einar Henning Smebye and Marianna Shirinyan. Stømner has been a soloist with, among others, the Norwegian Radio Orchestra, and has given concerts at festivals such as Festspillene i Bergen and the Oslo Chamber Music Festival. In 2019, he received the prestigious Robert Levin Pianist Prize. 


Arvo Pärt (1935)

Pjotr Tsjajkovskij (1840-1893): 
Souvenir d’un lieu cher
Méditation. Andante molto cantabile (d minor)
Scherzo. Presto giocoso (c minor)
Mélodie. Moderato con moto (e♭ major)

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) 
Violin Sonata no. 1 i g major, Op. 78
Vivace, ma non troppo
Allegro molto moderato


Adults NOK 290
KODE Members NOK 250
Students/Bergen Card NOK 250
Children NOK 50 

Buy Ticket

  • 9. October 2022
  • 290/250/50