Villa Concert 19/1: Stalheim / Carr

On selected Sundays in January and February we invite you to exclusive matiné concerts in Nina and Edvard Grieg's villa. 

Book your tickets now

Enjoy the beautiful villa, which Edvard Grieg referred to as his “best opus so far”. The concerts are arranged in the Grieg-couples sitting room, and will be performed on Grieg’s own Steinway Grand Piano from 1892.

All four concerts will be presented by professional musicians from Bergen, some young talents and some with international careers. Be sure to book your tickets early, there is only 45 tickets per concert!

Sunday 19 January at 13:00
Amalie Stalheim, cello
Joachim Carr, piano

About the musicians: 

Amalie Stalheim from Bergen is a promising young artists. She won the prestigious Swedish Soloist Prize in 2018, and since then, she has appeared as soloist with several symphony orchestras. During the season 2018-2020, Amalie Stalheim is “Artist in Residence” at the Swedish Radio P2. Stalheim has been awarded prizes and scholarships from international festivals and foundations. As an enthusiastic chamber musician, Stalheim has worked with Yo-Yo Ma, Leif Ove Andsnes and Kathryn Stott, among others. Stalheim is a graduate from The Royal Swedish Academy of Music and The Norwegian Academy of Music. 

Joachim Carr has over the last few years established himself as one the most exciting musicians to emerge from Scandinavia. He has won several international prizes, including the First Prize at the International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition in 2014. A versatile chamber musician and recitalist, he has been invited to a number of prestigious festivals. Born in Bergen, important musical impulses in his youth came from pianists Jan Henrik Kayser, Håvard Gimse and Leif Ove Andsnes. After studies at the Barratt Due Institute of Music in Oslo he moved to Berlin,where he took his Master and postgraduate studies at the Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler.”


Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Cellosonate i a-moll / Cellosonata in A minor, op. 36
Allegro agitato
Andante molto tranquillo
Allegro. Allegro molto e marcato

Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
Pohádka / Fairy tale


Adults NOK 290,-
Bergen Card NOK 250,-
KODE members NOK 200,-
Students/Children NOK 200,-

Book your tickets now

* Adults NOK 290 / Bergen Card NOK 250 / KODE member NOK 200 / Students and Children NOK 200