The Int. Edvard Grieg Piano Competition

The International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition is biannual competition arranged at Troldhaugen.

 2018 was the fourth time the International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition was held at Troldhaugen. The Competition is arranged by KODE Art Museums and Composer Homes.

Change of program due to Covid-19

Due to the Covid-19 situation, the 17th International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition has been postponed to 26 August–3 September 2022. The application deadline is 20 April 2022. 

For more information about the competition and application process, please visit our website:

About the Competition

The key ambition for the International Edvard Grieg Piano Competition is to be a high quality competition with a warm and inclusive atmosphere in Grieg’s own historic surroundings. The candidates stay with host families, and the schedule includes a number of concerts and events during the whole competition week. All candidates who do not reach the semi-final are offered paid concerts at the “pianists on tour” concept, with a fee that in most cases will cover their travel expenses. A number of events, lectures and masterclasses make the Grieg Competition a unique piano gathering in a city with long musical traditions.

The Grieg Competition aims to be a modern competition of high standards concerning impartiality and transparency. From 2016, Grieg Competition publishes all votes by the Jury after the competition has ended.

The level of the competitors has been extraordinary high every year, so has the number of participants. The competition became a member of the Alink-Argerich Foundation in 2004, and a member of the World Federation of International Music Competitions in 2017.

Winners 2018

1st Prize: Ryoma Takagi - Japan
2nd Prize: Matyáš Novák - Czech Republic
3rd Prize: Alexey Trushechkin - Russia

Audience Prize: Ryoma Takagi - Japan
Orchestra's Prize: Alexey Trushechkin - Russia
Prize for best performance of a complete opus originally written for solo piano by Edvard Grieg: Lars Fredrik Nystad - Norway
Prize for best performance of Synne Skouen´s "sul g": Olga Stezhko - Belarus


Since 2014, the foundation Stiftelsen Kristian Gerhard Jebsen has been the main sponsor and exclusive private contributor of Grieg Competition. Through generous funding the foundation has secured a competition on a high international level, organized by KODE Art Museums and Composer Homes.


Ryoma Takagi from Japan is the winner of the 1st Prize in Grieg Competition 2018. 2nd Prize winner Matyas Novak to the left and 3rd Prize winner Alexey Trushechkin to the right. (photo by Dag Fosse).